Nassau, BS. | Piaget, 19.

   “My name is Piaget and I’m a 19-year-old art major from The Bahamas. I have a deep appreciation for art and culture and love connecting with others who enjoy promoting, exploring and creating the creative arts.”

What is an ideal day in the city of Nassau?
A day on the beach, of course! For visitors and tourists especially, experiencing the island’s offerings of sun, sand and sea would make for a great day. Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.10.53 PMPlus, “beach days” aren’t entirely limited the immediate shores. For me, it’s absolutely magical when I hop in a boat with friends, sail to one of the nearby cays (or to a totally different island if everyone’s feeling good) and spend time hanging out on the seas with good company. You could do all this a hundred times and for each time still feel the love of the ocean.
Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.09.44 PMWhat is your city’s staple style?
There are countless clothing stores and fashion boutiques around town and people who don’t order their clothes over the Internet, just shop local. I’m not terribly keen on fashion trends these days, but most people dress for the weather.
Right now, for instance, it feels like mid summer outside. Shorts, crop tops, muscle tees and sandals are in full bloom.
What’s your typical style?
I’m neither here or there, but comfort is important. I’m almost always wearing a pair of denim shorts when I dress casually. They are super easy to dress up or down and keep me cool and able to function in the heat.
What do you with your free time? any hobbies?
With the little free time that I do have (when I’m not spending it asleep), I like to catch up with the ‘what’s what’ on my favourite art blogs, I catch a movie or I gather my art supplies and get busy.
What do you collect?
Images, digital and prints, of anything that inspires me.
My daily must haves:

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.10.14 PM

1. iPod
2. Cellphone
3. Water
4.Wallet
5. Laptop
6. Make up bag/ favourite lipstick
7. Shea butter
This is pretty much what I need to be awesome.
Where in your city do people your age hangout?
I’m not super social and prefer to be at home or in a studio. So going out isn’t a big to-do on my agenda. However, a lot of the more popular spots here in the city are cool and relaxing waterfront bars and restaurants.
What’s your version of ‘good-ass’ night?
The art scene here is quite exciting and nights when I get to see a good art show always end well. It’s fun to meet up with friends at a gallery then head out to a bar or restaurant after!
What music are you listening to? 
I recently came across an album by Jorge Ben –his first album, I believe. Samba Esquema Novo. I’m always listening to Purity Ring, and alt-J (An Awesome Wave is my all-time fav!)
TOP 5 songs on repeat right now:
1. alt-J – Matilda
2. Beach House – Lover of Mine
3. Purity Ring – Lofticries
4. Rhye – Open
5. James Blake – Give Me My Mouth
What’s your background (nationality)?
I’m Bahamian. I was born and grew up on an island called Grand Bahama, but live on the island of New Providence now while I earn my art degree here.
Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.12.04 PMWhat inspires you? 
Hmm… anything from a stimulating conversation to seeing a smile on a stranger’s face. I’m very much enjoy examples of expression, particularly the visual dialogues that come out of watching others engage one another.
What is your current occupation? What do you want to do?
I’m a broke, unemployed art major, but I kick ass doing what I do. I’m not entirely sure what avenue I want to take yet with my are, but I’m very interested in exploring curatorial studies.
How does your city inspire you?
The people. I see beauty everywhere, in everyone I see. I think I’m most inspired during my daily commute to class. I love observing other commuters and seeing them interact with their friends, coworkers, children or siblings… The architecture is also inspiring.
Your current obsession?
Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 6.09.25 PMA lip colour I get from mixing a drug store brand lip liner and lipstick.

Follow Piaget on IG: _Piaget

Leave a Reply

