Brussels, BE. | Tatiana, 24.

“My name is Tatiana, I was born and raised in Marseille, France. I studied music there for twelve years, then I left for Paris where I lived for five years, studying cinema & currently I am living in Brussels, Belgium to pursue some visual projects & study medicine. I am passionate about the arts. What I love about arts is that everything is moving, there is a constant newness & always something to discover.”

What is an ideal day in the city of Brussels?
I was more thinking about the night because I’m too busy on day to have a cool one. But, an ideal day in Brussels would be Thursday, because there are the Openings every thursday. 1743322_10152402048412518_1587517659_nAfter a day of hard-working at school, I would go to the private views to join my friends, meet some new people, discover new things, and as we do the best we would improvise the night, landing in a cool place. Or simply, an ideal day depends on the persons I am with, the ones I love the most. I don’t do crazy things, it’s about having lunch with them and rotting under the sun.
What is your city’s staple style?
10169124_10152402034422518_64994376_nI don’t know if I understand the question well lol. Are you asking for the style of the people living in my current city? Well, people from Brussels are too normal to me. I mean, people just want to show they wear brands from big maisons de couture, luxury, something fashionable, while I’m more looking after an allure, something more subtile. Here people wear what? Ew, maybe I didn’t land in the coolest place.
What’s your typical style?
I always want to feel good in my clothes. I’m very simple, I love everything effortless, casual, I’m focus on details, on the allure. I love shoes for men, to add something masculine because it reveals my part of femininity more than a pair of heels. For example, I love to wear a dress with some brogues for men.
What do you with your free time?
954560_10152402009327518_2091695041_nI like to walk and lose myself in the streets as I’m in a new city. There’s always something to discover. When I’m lazy, I go to a friend’s place, at home I read, or I learn arabic, sometimes I draw.. and rarely but cool to do when I’m dead, I love to lay in my bed and to “daydream”. 
What do you collect?
I think I used to collect things since my first move to Paris because I lose things during my relocations. Anyway, I don’t know if we can talk about collection but some random objects with an “emotional” value.
Take a pic of your daily city must haves:
968006_10152407050317518_1625191444_nI feel like a nomad. I hate to carry too much things on me, I used to wear big bags, I always have a small one or a clutch. It forces me to take only the essential. I’ve got my wallet, a book sometimes, I’ve got my ipod, my iPhone with my french number and an old cellphone with my Belgium phone where my Belgium friends could reach me, a lipstick, a lip balm, creams to moisturizer my skin because mine is too dry, sometimes I take my nuxe oil – yes, my skin first -, my battery charger, my keys. Not a lot but for me it’s already too much.
1. iPhone & cellphone
2. iPod
3. Skin care bag (lip balm, creams, oil) + lipstick
4. Battery charger
5. Wallet (money, cards, keys)
6. Book
Ouch, I feel like a warrior.
Where your city do people your age hangout?
Ixelles, Saint-Gilles and Bruxelles Centre are the best areas to hangout in Brussels, for people of my age and more.
What’s your version of ‘good-ass’ night?
10149332_10152402009322518_2089514127_nA good ass night starts off in an art gallery – like on the openings on thursday for example, yes again… — where we have free drinks – and how good, good champagne and wine – and good snacks. Or it could be a good event, like one created by a cool magazine, I love to meet new people, to talk about themselves, work, life.. and after we would go to dance to end. I just need to be with the right people (the base of a good night), to meet the good ones, and not to be in a place where music makes me deaf to death. I think that to talk is important.
What music are you listening to?
Hard to say because the list is quite long and eclectic. The bands I listen to are all different, I love music from the 60’s, and hip hop for example.
TOP 5 songs on repeat right now:
Oh, that’s too much to ask, making this type of list break my heart, really!
1. Gioco d’Azzardo – Paolo Conte
2. “Forbidden Fruit” – J. Cole ft. Kendrick Lamar
3. “Something About Us” – Daft Punk
4. “Lying together” – FKJ
5. “Take It Out On Me” – Chairlift
Whats your background (nationality)?
My dad is Indian, Arabic and Iranian, my mom is Chinese. 
What inspires you?
Strangely, the emptiness. People that I observe a lot, the extremes that are coexistent like violence and love, nothing really concrete.
What is your current occupation? What do you want to do?
10261775_10152402034602518_1174691302_nI’m a medicine student and I also work as a photographer for a Belgian magazine – The Word. I’d like to create some fragrances, and some tints and colors in labs for some cosmetics. In parallel I’d like to pursue some projects in arts, like to create a like of vest and coats. I made one for me and all my friends like it, then they ordered from me and that’s really encouraging while I never worked in fashion. My curiosity brought me there.
How does your city inspire you?
My current city, Brussels, inspired me some calm, but that’s not at all. Some craziness is well hidden behind these pretty houses of bricks. There is something deceitful there. I don’t know if this city inspire me a lot, even if I love this one, I did think about yet.
Your current obsession?
10156856_10152402010432518_243656910_nLeather boots and brogues, looking for the perfect ones.

Follow Tatiana on IG: @jnkfdfvr

Leave a Reply

